1 of 4
How to make bread healthier
Posted: 10 May 2012 11:40 AM   [ Ignore ]
Rank
Total Posts:  20
Joined  2009-10-01

While I’m no expert in bread making, I enjoy making it for my kids. I have Rose’s book and have had good success with it (I usually do the basic white sandwich loaf, banana feather loaf, sweet potato loaf, or cinnamon raisin swirl loaf). But I’d like to see if anyone has a recommendation for making the bread healthier. The biggest constraint we have, unfortunately, is money. I would so love a wheat mill, but can’t get one, so any whole wheat flour I have to buy already ground. I can reasonably easily do half whole wheat, half bread (or ap) flour, and I’m sure that will help. But I’d love any tips on anything else I can do or add (that isn’t terribly expensive) to make the bread healthier. Some of my kids are very picky eaters, but they all like bread, so I’d like to do what I can to get anything healthy I can in them. Recommendations?

Posted: 10 May 2012 12:03 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 1 ]
RankRankRankRank
Total Posts:  1358
Joined  2008-09-27
Vivster - 10 May 2012 02:40 PM

But I’d love any tips on anything else I can do or add (that isn’t terribly expensive) to make the bread healthier.

Bread is a very healthful product by its very nature.  Sure, adding more whole wheat can make it even better, but beyond that, you have a serious case of rapidly diminishing returns. Your time would be better spent, IMO, in improving the healthfulness of other aspects of your family’s diet.

Signature 

If error is corrected whenever it is recognized as such, the path of error is the path of truth.

—Hans Reichenbach

Posted: 10 May 2012 12:21 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 2 ]
Administrator
RankRankRankRank
Total Posts:  4791
Joined  2008-04-16

Rose has recipes over on the blog for 25% whole wheat and 50% whole wheat sandwich loaves- yummy!

Signature 

Brød & Taylor Test Kitchen:  How to Make Sourdough More (or Less) Sour