How to make bread healthier
Posted: 10 May 2012 11:40 AM   [ Ignore ]
Rank
Total Posts:  20
Joined  2009-10-01

While I’m no expert in bread making, I enjoy making it for my kids. I have Rose’s book and have had good success with it (I usually do the basic white sandwich loaf, banana feather loaf, sweet potato loaf, or cinnamon raisin swirl loaf). But I’d like to see if anyone has a recommendation for making the bread healthier. The biggest constraint we have, unfortunately, is money. I would so love a wheat mill, but can’t get one, so any whole wheat flour I have to buy already ground. I can reasonably easily do half whole wheat, half bread (or ap) flour, and I’m sure that will help. But I’d love any tips on anything else I can do or add (that isn’t terribly expensive) to make the bread healthier. Some of my kids are very picky eaters, but they all like bread, so I’d like to do what I can to get anything healthy I can in them. Recommendations?

Posted: 31 May 2012 03:11 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 1 ]
Rank
Total Posts:  1
Joined  2012-05-31

When my grandmother used to bake bread, her secret ingredient was hay from our horse stable.  She swore that hay with a hint (she stressed a HINT) of horse droppings mixed with the dough, made the texture of the bread more hearty, and was healthier.  Has anyone else here tried this?  I should also add - to be truthful - that my Grandmother was treated for depression and alcoholism 1946, eventually leading to her suicide in 1950.  Also, I have been looking for a good recipe for homemade granola if anyone out there has one that they like.  Thanks!

Posted: 02 April 2013 05:15 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 2 ]
Rank
Total Posts:  17
Joined  2013-04-02