Needed: Glaze, frosting, icing for ginger/carrot cake
Posted: 18 May 2012 09:00 PM   [ Ignore ]
Rank
Total Posts:  15
Joined  2012-05-13

Hi! I am a newbie and bake for the enjoyment of it.

Daughter’s brother-in-law is getting married next month and her sister-in-law to be is very good friends with her; and so has offered to help make pies and cakes for her picnic wedding reception which will be held at the groom’s home in the backyard.

(The pies are simple: apple, cherry, and blueberry! I already have made a number of them & they are in the freezer now, in zip lock bags.)

I am making sample cakes and pies for my daughter so that once she is in state this coming week, we can finalize what cakes and icings we will do.

We have decided to several types of cakes.

One is a white cake with like a 7-minute white frosting with sliced strawberries. So there is frosting in-between layers with sliced fresh strawberries. Icing on the top with enough strawberries to make it decorative.

Albeit, the two cake layers, which she made, she says are not tall enough to slice for 4-layers, which she is adamant to have.

Of course, she wants a grand presentation, and so I have offered to try making like 2x the batter and collar the cake pans. (9” round) So, trying to collar a cake will be a new thing for me, and a challenge. She’s not open to doing a 3-layer cake of 1” height for each layer. She insist on 2 layers that are tall enough to split! OY!

But she faced another problem, said that she made this cake for a party last weekend and when friends came over, she said they loved this cake with the strawberries, however, when they went to cut into the cake, it pulled out the strawberries which she had sliced crosswise.

Do you have any suggestions as to how we can cut the strawberries for the in-between the layers so that when the cake is cut they won’t pull out?

The next cake is a chocolate cake with a chocolate butter-cream.