Brands of Baking Powder
Posted: 06 June 2012 12:05 AM   [ Ignore ]
Rank
Total Posts:  3
Joined  2012-06-05

Dear Rose and Fellow Posters:

Hi. I am new to this Web site and stumbled across it a while ago when I was looking up information on baking. Rose is clearly an excellent baker, scientist, teacher, and author, and it is wonderful of her to provide such a great resource for all people to share in the joys of baking.
My question concerns the differences that I seem to be encountering with two brands of baking powder: Clabber Girl and Argo. I have used Clabber Girl for a long time, but I decided to switch to Argo baking powder, since aluminum-free is the way to be, or so I hear, nowadays. Using Argo, however, I noticed that some of the cakes that I bake (I am a completely amateur baker) rise rather quickly in the oven and, regarding cupcakes, they overflow the liners in the pan and stretch across the rim. (I could see them through the oven door’s window and made certain that I did not open the oven door until I reached near the end of the baking process.) I do not think that I had this problem with the same recipes using Clabber Girl and am wondering if I am suddenly doing something wrong and not realizing it or if there is a difference in performance among the various brands of baking powder. (None of the cake recipes I have used are Rose’s; I only have _The Pie and Pastry Bible_ and am thinking that I really need to get her _The Cake Bible_ to improve my skills and to learn more about cake baking.) The reason that I chose Argo is because it is double-acting, has recently appeared on my store shelves in large numbers, and was recommended by food testers on _The Fresh Loaf_ and _The Luke Warm Legumes_ Web sites. (Plus, I am a little slow in the kitchen, so I am afraid that the leavening will fizzle out too quickly with single-acting baking powder.) However, I am not having much luck with the Argo baking powder in cakes that use the “creaming method.”