Layers withing tiers question from newbie
Posted: 10 June 2012 11:11 AM   [ Ignore ]
Rank
Total Posts:  7
Joined  2012-06-10

Hi All

Hoping you can all advise me as I am baking my first wedding cake from TCB. The white butter cake with a lemon buttercream and lemon curd filling.

As i figure you just sandwich the 2 cakes together to form the tier, i was thinking of baking three 9 inch cakes to make a deeper middle tier. The recipe in TCB is for 2x6 and 2x9 inch layers. How do I calculate to make more mixture to make an extra 9 inch layer.

Is there a formula that i have not stumbled across??

I am a good cake baker i would say and am pushing myself to do bigger better cakes. I am good at the practical but not theoretical, so wondered if you guys could explain it to me real easy.

My cake tins are also 2 inches deep and I belive from my reading that this also makes a difference??

Thanks in advance cheese

Posted: 10 June 2012 12:38 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 1 ]
Administrator
RankRankRankRank
Total Posts:  3168
Joined  2010-04-25

Hi, Herbqueen!

Welcome!

To go from a recipe calling for 1.5” deep pans to one calling for 2” deep pans, you need 1/3 more batter, so multiply everything by 1.33.

For the wedding cake you mention, the 9” layers use 66% of the batter, so an extra 9” layer would half that—33% again—so multiply everything by 1.33.

To bake, then, a 1.5” pan recipe in 2” pans AND add an extra 9” layer, you have 1 (the recipe) x 1.33 (for the pans) x 1.33 (for extra the layer) = 1.76x the original recipe.

Wedding cake experts—feel free to chime in here, for sure!!!!!

Please keep us posted on your cake progress!!!

—ak

Posted: 10 June 2012 01:07 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 2 ]
RankRankRankRank
Total Posts:  1360
Joined  2008-09-27

The wedding cake on page 484 already is for 2 inch high pans, so no adjustment is needed for that.

I would calculate the adjustment based on the ratio of volumes of the desired to the current:

(volume of 6 inch) + (volume of 9 inch)