How to make sheet cake?
Posted: 08 October 2012 01:30 PM   [ Ignore ]
Rank
Total Posts:  2
Joined  2012-10-08

Hi everyone! I’m new to this site and very excited that I even found it while searching.

I’m a novice baker. I wouldn’t even really call myself a baker. I love being in the kitchen whether I’m cooking dinner or making treats but I am no expert at any of them.

My son’s birthday party is in November and money has gotten very tight since adding a new addition to the family so I decided I am going to bake him his own sheet cake this year.

I’d like it to be a half sheet cake but am not sure how many boxes of mix I need. I have a few questions if y’all could help me, please,  I would so much appreciate it!

1) How many boxes of mix?
2) Can I mix chocolate and white?
3) The idea is to have black, blue, and red or black, white, and red…so I was going to use at least 1 chocolate and 1 white and then some dye for the blue or red. Is that advisable? If so, is liquid food coloring ok or gel?
4) Frosting??
5) How can I get the cake to stand tall?

If I’m forgetting something that I obviously should know but don’t seem to by all means, please indulge me! I’m not always a quick thinker and forget the simplest of things.

Thank you everyone for your help!

Posted: 08 October 2012 03:20 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 1 ]
RankRankRankRank
Total Posts:  1363
Joined  2008-09-27
Minatsuchan - 08 October 2012 04:30 PM

how many boxes of mix

This is a “scratch baking” site, not a “box mix” site, so you won’t receive much encouragement on that part of your plan.  That said, you can calculate how many boxes you need by comparing the volume of the pans used in the recipe to that of the sheet cake pan you’re going to use.  Box mixes are very tolerant of abuse, so you might be able to get a taller cake by increasing the amount of batter in the pan, but a safer way would be to bake two layers.