2 of 2
That good old-fashioned dishwasher flavor
Posted: 12 December 2012 01:00 AM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 16 ]
Rank
Total Posts:  1
Joined  2012-12-11

Matthew - I am new to RealBakingWithRose, but have a bit of experience with similar issues. If your utensils are holding on to odors from the foods that they contact, then that is more of an issue with the composition of the utensil; I love the suggestion of denture cleaner for this, but soaking in plain baking soda slurry should also work as well. Pinpointing the problem from here takes a little bit of problem solving. Are any other items coming out of the washer dirty, spotted or with a film? Does your water have a high calcium or magnesium content? Is there a white scale on the inside washer surfaces? When you put your head into the washer when its empty do you smell an old dishwater odors?

Detergent brands have subtle differences, some work better with a particular supply water quality. Rinsing agents make up for some of this, but rarely is the detergent brand the reason for unclean items, however.  Odors & flavors that resemble dirty dishwater originate from retaining dirty dishwater on or in the item. I understand that your spatulas are about 10 yrs old, but I don’t remember if you described the composition of the spatula head, the handle, or if they are molded (1 piece) or come apart. Spatulas that separate from the handle will retain dirty odors within the mortise that the handle fits into. Because the majority of our “taste” resides in our smell ability, we will taste odors that we smell. Removing the spatula from the handle, scrubbing and deodorizing may correct this depending on the material composition.