Lemon Poppyseed Sour Cream Cake
Posted: 02 November 2012 02:46 PM   [ Ignore ]
Rank
Total Posts:  2
Joined  2012-11-02

My latest hobby has become baking.  After reading a variety of blogs that mentioned Rose’s books I decided to purchase The Cake Bible, The Bread Bible, The Pie and Pastry Bible and ofcourse Rose’s Heavenly Cakes.  Last night I ventured to make my first cake from my newly acquired cookbooks and I choose the Lemon Poppyseed Sour Cream cake (because I absolutely love the lemon poppyseed cake at Starbucks).  I am new to the whole cake baking thing so I had no clue what a tube pan or flute pan was but I did bake the cake in a non-stick bundt pan.  Not even sure what size bundt pan it was either.  The cake appeared to have risen well however after removing from the oven and adding the syrup/glaze the cake instantly shrunk. It shrunk down and inwards away from the pan.  big surprise  In the end my cake turned out to be about two inches high if so much.  It still tasted great and met my expectations but I just wanted to know what I did wrong and why the cake shrunk.  Please help.

Posted: 02 November 2012 11:45 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 1 ]
RankRankRankRank
Total Posts:  1330
Joined  2008-09-27

Did you 1) weigh all your ingredients, and 2) use bleached cake flour?

Signature 

If error is corrected whenever it is recognized as such, the path of error is the path of truth.

—Hans Reichenbach

Posted: 03 November 2012 07:31 AM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 2 ]
Administrator
RankRankRankRank
Total Posts:  4741
Joined  2008-04-16

In addition to Charles’ solutions, also consider whether the cake may have been underbaked.  Did it shrink mostly in the middle and less at the edge where the cake meets the pan?

Signature 

B&T Blog:  Ultimate Cinnamon Rolls

Posted: 03 November 2012 07:43 AM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 3 ]
RankRankRankRank
Total Posts:  1330
Joined  2008-09-27

Julie!  It’s 4:30 am.

Signature