Fondant Rolling Pin?
Posted: 23 November 2012 12:33 PM   [ Ignore ]
RankRankRankRank
Total Posts:  129
Joined  2011-01-21

HI Everyone -
  Since you all know i am a beginner cake decorator - i thought i would ask all the “pros”.  Currently i am using a small wooden rolling pin for rolling out fondant.  While it is ok, i would like to use something that is larger and made for fondant.  Does anyone have any suggestions? Should i purchase a polypropylene or a silicon rolling pin?  I have heard and read pros and cons for both.
  Thanks for your advice!

Posted: 23 November 2012 05:32 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 1 ]
RankRankRankRank
Total Posts:  671
Joined  2012-01-12

I always use that big white one made by Wilton.  It is very thick plastic and it is about 18 inches long.  I use this when I need to roll out a big piece of fondant to cover a cake.  For trimmings and decorations,  I have textured ones that is made of clear thick plastic.  I also sometimes use that marble one that is very heavy.  I helps flatten the fondant.

Image Attachments
rollingpin.jpgtexturedrp.jpgmarblerp.jpg

Posted: 23 November 2012 05:55 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 2 ]
RankRankRankRank
Joined  2011-01-21

Thank you for your advice prettycake!

Posted: 24 November 2012 08:29 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 3 ]
RankRankRankRank
Total Posts:  596
Joined  2007-11-27