Bread inner texture question
Posted: 29 November 2012 03:43 AM   [ Ignore ]
Rank
Total Posts:  2
Joined  2012-11-29

Hi Everyone,

I’m new to baking bread, and new to this forum also. I was baking a couple of loaves today and used Rose’s recommended Gold Medal bread flour, and was intrigued when I saw her blog URL on the package, so I thought I’d stop by and ask questions.

I started baking bread a few months ago using a Jamie Oliver basic recipe. The bread I make tastes great and the crust is usually nice and crunchy, but the main issue I have is that I’m disappointed with the texture of the interior. When I started I had visions of big bubbly interiors, like a Tuscan loaf of bread that you use to mop up sauce with or something. Instead, I’m getting very dense, heavy bread with very fine bubbles, like that of store bought loaves of sliced bread.

So my question is, how do I get that bubbly, lighter interior?

The recipe I use calls for a lb. each of strong flour and AP flour (I’ll switch it up sometimes with whole wheat), an ounce of salt, 3 1/4oz packs of yeast, tepid water to dissolve it in and honey. I use a baking stone in a gas oven, and today I used Rose’s recommendation of putting a pan of water in the oven with the bread, and doing the 2nd rise with the olive oil coated cling wrap to cover the dough.

Jamie’s recipe calls for only rising for an hour and a half, but lately I’ve been letting it rise more like 6 or so hours to see if that made a difference (not…). Any ideas?

Thank you!

Posted: 29 November 2012 09:38 AM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 1 ]
Administrator
RankRankRankRank
Total Posts:  4789
Joined  2008-04-16

And so the quest begins…