How is a Croquembouche Served?
Posted: 24 February 2013 09:51 AM   [ Ignore ]
Administrator
RankRankRankRank
Total Posts:  4783
Joined  2008-04-16

I’m considering a croquembouche (cream puff tower) for a larger group function, but how does one successfully serve that?  When I think of trying to pry the delicate little cream puffs off the base, I’m worried that they may all end up semi-crushed and with holes in them from where the caramel (used to affix the puff to the cone-shaped base) was stronger than the puff. 

Does anyone have experience or tips on serving one of these towers?

Signature 

B&T Blog:  Cultured Butter Recipe

Posted: 24 February 2013 01:07 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 1 ]
Administrator
RankRankRankRank
Total Posts:  3147
Joined  2010-04-25

Hi, Julie!

I have no experience, myself, but I found the following tidbit here - http://www.wedding-cakes.co.uk/croquembouche.php  They appear to make them for weddings and have some info on croquembouche options, as it were, that might be interesting.

High humidity softens the caramel making the croquembouche easy to pull apart. This occurs naturally in marquees, but otherwise a steamy kitchen is ideal. Serve three choux balls per guest as dessert, with a chocolate or caramel sauce, or one choux ball as wedding cake.

It also mentions that it relies on the correct balance of caramel to allow it to both hold together and be dismantled.

Let us know how it goes!  I have a cookbook with a recipe for this, and I’ve eyed it several times!!!

—ak

Posted: 24 February 2013 01:46 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 2 ]
Administrator
RankRankRankRank
Joined  2010-04-25

You also might want to check YouTube - there’s a number of croquembouche videos, and one might include serving.  I’m going to watch some tonight!

Posted: 25 February 2013 12:49 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 3 ]
Administrator
RankRankRankRank
Joined  2008-04-16