1 of 3
Chocolate butter cake problem. PLEASE HELP!!!
Posted: 06 March 2013 04:44 AM   [ Ignore ]
Rank
Total Posts:  10
Joined  2013-03-06

Hello All!

I am fairly new to the cake world. I have a lot of knowledge but little experience.

I bake a lot but I’ve only made one other wedding cake. I used a recipe I found for altering boxed mix to be the right texture. It turned out pretty good for my first cake. So, now I have been asked to make my friends wedding cake. I’m planning on making the usual 12”, 9”, 6” tiers.
She asked for chocolate cake with vanilla filling and fondant finish. I would like to do a custard filling but I’m not confident enough in my skill having never made a custard or Bavarian Cream and the pre made stuff they sell in the store seems pretty thin and I don’t want to risk having an unstable cake, so I’m planning on making a vanilla bean Neoclassic butter cream for the filling.
The first time I tried making the NBC it didn’t come out right because I didn’t heat the sugar/syrup to the right temperature. The second batch came out much better smile

I thought I’d give you guys a little background info, but anyway, down to my issue!

I tired the chocolate butter cake recipe (from The Cake Bible) as a test batch. I believe I calculated everything correctly for two 6” rounds worth of batter. I weighed the ingredients but some of the ingredients didn’t have the correct weight to volume ratio based on what the book says. For example, according to the book I should multiply the base recipes 3 tbsp. + 1 1/2 tsp. cocoa powder by 2 (for a 6” cake) which gives me 6tbsp. and 3 tsp. The book says this should equal 1.5 ounces or 42 grams but my scale said it was more like 66 grams. The cake flour also seemed to be off but other things like the eggs were dead on at 50 grams each.
Once mixed the texture seemed to be good.. but if I let it sit for too long without stirring, it looked like it was just beginning to curdle?