Pound Cake Proportions
Posted: 24 March 2013 06:29 PM   [ Ignore ]
Rank
Total Posts:  3
Joined  2013-03-24

Hi,
I am new to Rose’s books having just purchased the Cake Bible, but am very excited to be beginning my journey of exploration of her work.
I admit to being a bit stumped, however, with the very first recipe. Depending upon which of the units one works with, the proportions of the cake seem very different.
I am training to be a chef in London, England, live in Canada and did live for many years in New York, so feel comfortable with any and all ways of measuring. For my own curiosity I was checking back and forth between the gram and cup/tbs measurements (and yes, I know it’s important not to not mix the two:-). Everything tallies quite well except the flour and sugar measurements. The 150 grams of flour translates to 1 cup of flour, not 1 1/2 cups, and the 150 grams sugar translates to more than 3/4 cup (which is only 120 grams). Reading on further Rose speaks about starting with equal weights of flour, sugar and butter but increasing the butter in her recipe, so I am going to make it this afternoon using 150 grams of each flour and sugar and see how that works. But is anybody aware of this difference between the two sets of measurements and whether there is a mistake in one of them?
I could not find it in the errors and errata section.
I would appreciate any guidance on this as I really want to explore (accurately) all that Rose has to offer!
Sue

Posted: 24 March 2013 07:16 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 1 ]
Rank
Joined  2013-03-24

I suspect I am answering my own question here….