Pound Cake issue…
Posted: 08 April 2013 02:34 AM   [ Ignore ]
Rank
Total Posts:  4
Joined  2013-04-08

Hi all,

I am new to baking, and I have always wanting to bake my own pound cakes.

So, I googled pound cake recipes on the Internet.

I picked a pound cake recipe on: tasteofhome (Coconut Loaf Recipe)

Here is the original ingredients
  1/2 cup butter, softened
  1 cup sugar
  2 eggs
  1 teaspoon vanilla extract
  2 cups all-purpose flour
  2 teaspoons baking powder
  1/2 teaspoon salt
  3/4 cup 2% milk
  1-1/4 cups flaked coconut

I tried this recipe 2 times.

First time, it was on last Sunday:
I didn’t use flaked coconut, so I left it out.
But I kept the rest same.
I baked it for 1 hour and under 350F, then, the pound cake came out dry,hard,and no taste to it at all.

So, (2nd time)
I just tried it again, with little bit of modifications to the original recipe.

1/2 cup butter, softened —->    salted butter   1min in the microwave.
  1 cup sugar             —->  1.2cup+2.5tea spoon
  2 eggs
  1 teaspoon vanilla extract —->  2 teasppon vanilla extract
  2 cups all-purpose flour   —->  1.5 cups
  2 teaspoons baking powder
  1/2 teaspoon salt     —->    0
  3/4 cup 2% milk       —->  1 cup
  1-1/4 cups flaked coconut —->  0

I baked it for 35minutes, under 350F.

So, the pound cake came out super dark, somewhat moist, and very greasy

:(

What did I do wrong?

Please help..

p.s
Both times, I added 2 teaspoons of Moist cake mix..

Posted: 08 April 2013 02:53 AM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 1 ]
RankRankRankRank
Total Posts:  1360
Joined  2008-09-27

Thanks for providing a lot of information; most people don’t.

Sounds like your oven might be too hot. Have you checked it with a thermometer? And 1 minute for the butter in the microwave is a long, long time. It would be a melted puddle in mine. Even if it isn’t, if it’s too soft, it won’t hold much air when you cream it, producing a dense product.