Using sugar in buttercream and cake recipes
Posted: 14 April 2013 01:54 PM   [ Ignore ]
Rank
Total Posts:  3
Joined  2013-04-14

I am a newbie here and at cake baking and decorating.  I have taken all of the Wilton courses and several others.  Also learning from books.  Just got the Cake bible and love it, taking a big jump in my cake baking here. My questions:  I have always made buttercream from essentially the Wilton recipes or Toba Garrett , using powdered sugar. I have never used granulated or yolks.  Can anyone tell me the difference in taste, texture.  I am assuming it is not a sweet.  About to try the neo classic.  Also I assume the sugar in the cake recipes are also for the extra fine granulated sugar or can I just use my regular sugar.  A little overwhelmed with this book.  Thanks you.

Posted: 14 April 2013 04:26 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 1 ]
Administrator
RankRankRankRank
Total Posts:  4781
Joined  2008-04-16

Oh my, you’re about to discover how wonderful buttercreams are when they are super-smooth, creamy and not too sweet, enjoy!  Rose’s recipes are great for venturing outside of your comfort zone, good luck!

a few tips for making the neoclassic buttercream:

-You can use standard granulated white sugar for the buttercreams, no need to go with superfine.  Superfine is great for cakes as it helps produce a fine texture.

-Be sure to boil the sugar syrup until it bubbles vigorously all over, not just a few bubbles in the middle.

-Be sure to weigh or measure the yolks, most eggs have smaller yolks now than when this book was written.

-Be sure to flavor it according to one of the flavor variations, these buttercreams are too rich on their own (plain) and need a flavoring to be their best.

and a few more tips for frosting/decorating with the buttercream: