Cakes do not brown at the bottom and sides, but test done with a tootpick in the centre
Posted: 13 June 2013 03:04 AM   [ Ignore ]
Rank
Total Posts:  4
Joined  2013-06-12

I am fairly new to baking, but I have taken to it with a lot of passion after reading The Cake Bible. In the begining I used to bake in my microwave using the convection setting and my cake tops would just not cook!
Recently I have invested in a new counter top Oven with both conventional and convection settings. The first 2 cakes that i made turned out good enough but their tops did not brown very well / at all but the sides were nice and brown and the cake was cooked very well.
I have a fairly new problem at hand these days. I am trying to bake an All Occassion Downy Yellow Butter from TCB. It has been very hard to find a 9” x 2” pan these days. Oops, forgot to mention I live in India.
So, I decided to bake the cake in 8” X 2” pan. I calculated the recipe ingredients using the Base Formula for Yellow butter cakes and multiplied it by 3.5 (Rose Factor for 8” cakes).
Since 8” cakes fall in the Level 1 category, I multiplied the baking powder by 3.5. My problem here is that the bottom and sides of the cake dont even brown a spec, where as the top does brown. My cake was tested done after 42 mins. It also did spring back on the top.
The cake did rise beautifully to 2” and had no domed or sunken center
Here is what I did
1)Pre heated the oven for 20 mins at 180 degree celcius
2)Buttered the and floured the cake pan.
3) Calculated the ingredients as per the formula and “weighed” them using an electronic weighing scale
4) The butter was at 23.9 degrees C
5) Whisked the dry ingredients with a wire whisk for 1 min
6) Added the butter and 3/4th milk and mixed it with a hand held mixer for 1.5 mins on high power
7) Mixed Egg yolks, vanilla and 1/4th milk and mixed it lightly
8) Added this mixture to the batter in 3 batches, every time mixing it for 20 seconds.