Weight vs. volume question in All-Occasion Yellow Downey Butter Cake
Posted: 15 September 2008 10:40 AM   [ Ignore ]
Rank
Total Posts:  3
Joined  2008-09-14

Hi, all!  I’m a longtime baker, had TCB for most of a decade and used it a LOT.  I finally got a good scale about a year ago, and have been baking with it since then.  I expect this isn’t much of a question, but more of an intro-post, but here goes.

My son’s birthday was this past weekend (he turned 5), and I made him a Stealth Strawberry Cake, modified from All-Occasion Yellow Downey Butter Cake, with Strawberry-flavoured Neo-Classic Buttercream on it.  The cake was excellent, as evidenced by the empty platter I took home.  I wrote up the cake in my own making-things blog, which you can read if you’d like

My question is this: the battery in my scale started fading as I was weighing dry ingredients.  I realized this just after putting the salt in the bowl.  It looked like a lot of salt, but I kind of shrugged and put it in anyway.  Then I started weighing the baking powder, and it also looked like a lot.  I re-weighed it 3-4 times before I noticed the battery indicator.  Then I changed the battery, re-weighed the baking powder, and it STILL looked like a lot.  So I went to find my old teaspoons (had to dig for them, too), and measured.  I’ve always used Calumet double-action baking powder, and this tin is probably about 6-8 months old.  The recipe calls for 19.5g of baking powder, which is supposed to be 1 tbsp + 1 tsp.  By volume, 19.5g of baking powder turns out to be more than 1T 2t, so I compromised and split the difference.  I used 18g of baking powder, which measured as 1T 1.5t.  I also wound up taking out a pinch of the salt, since it had a) looked like too much and b) the battery was wonky, and I hadn’t mixed it in yet.