have a few questions…newbie
Posted: 08 July 2013 09:32 PM   [ Ignore ]
Rank
Total Posts:  2
Joined  2013-07-08

Hi!

I am looking for answers here since I am a newbie, and I will try to make it short. My youngest son’s baptism is on July 27th (Saturday) and I am doing a small birthday party for my oldest son the next day. For the baptism, I want to bake cake pops (60 less or more) with a receipe from Hungry girl (cake mix with a can of cream soda). The only decoration on them will be a cross (I want to use one of those food gel). For the birthday, I want to bake 3 small cakes (I think the pan is 4 inches) and decoration will be the Octonauts.

question 1- how many days before can I bake the cake pops and the 3 small cakes?

question 2- what is the best way the store them until Saturday and Sunday?

question 3- Can I decorate them in advance or should I wait until the day of….

question 4- what will be the best and easier way to decorate the “octonauts” cakes: icing or fondant?

one will be white, one orange and the other one white and black.

question 5- almond paste or marzipan to make the ears and nose of the octonauts?

Lot of question, I know. Some of you might think I won’t be able to do everything I want to do, but this is why I want to start early if possible (I am last minute type of person). thank you for your answers

Posted: 08 July 2013 11:15 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 1 ]
RankRankRankRank
Total Posts:  706
Joined  2012-01-12

Sounds like you have a lot to do.

1) are you using that cake pop mold ? If so I’m not sure since I make my cake pops the original way, bake the cake then mush it. W/ mine I made them 4 days ahead as long as it is on the fridge.

2) in the fridge

3) depends how you are decorating them. As u mentioned gel, then wait the night b4. I personally do not like gel. They are messy and looks somewhat ordinary. Jmho.