Help with how best to ice cake with Rose’s Food Processor Poured Fondant
Posted: 30 September 2008 12:54 PM   [ Ignore ]
Rank
Total Posts:  19
Joined  2008-04-12

Hi - I made Rose’s Food Processor Poured Fondant icing yesterday and it was really lovely. However I had a bit of a problem applying it to my cake. I was icing an All Occasion Downy Yellow Butter cake. It poured beautifully onto the top of the cake and started to run down the sides…and all was looking great. However, it didn’t pour uniformly enough over the cake sides and so there was still a lot of gaps.  I tried to move the icing into the gaps with my spatula but then crumbs started to get into the icing.

I’m a total novice to baking and cake decorating and I would really appreciate any tips to deal with this. The taste was great even though it didn’t look very pretty. Before pouring the fondant icing over the cake should I have chilled/frozen the cake. or given it a coat of buttercream? Maybe I didn’t thin the icing enough with the sugar syrup - I was hoping for a cake robed in white icing with no cake showing.

Also, if I ever do master the poured fondant icing, would it be OK to pipe buttercream icing on top of this. I’m not too keen on buttercream icing and prefer the taste of this poured fondant.

Another query - should you chill a cake before torting it?

Thanks in advance for any help or input you can give me. 

PS Isn’t The Cake Bible just the most wonderful book in the world! smile

Posted: 30 September 2008 01:47 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 1 ]
RankRankRankRank
Total Posts:  2568
Joined  2007-11-15