Help !! Problems coloring fondant.
Posted: 08 October 2008 02:58 PM   [ Ignore ]
Rank
Total Posts:  3
Joined  2008-10-08

Hello to all & thanks for this awesome blog. I am a professional chef & I also do cakes for friends & family. I use Peggy’s MMF recipe for fondant & I love it!! It works perfectly everytime. Mostly I have done pale tinted fondants using Americolor or Wilton. But I have tried to do a deep red & brown and my fondant is totally falling apart. It is weirdly sticky & crumbly at the same time. While doing a cake last night I had to start my fondant over because the batch I tinted fell apart. The second batch I tinted as a made it in the mixer. I don’t really like to always tint as I am making the fondant because I like to reuse my left overs & I like them to be white so I can tint them any color.

Is anyone else having these problems? For small decor items I use gumpaste &/or tylose with fondant & i have alot less big surprise  tinting probs.

All help is appreciated !!!

Posted: 08 October 2008 04:03 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 1 ]
RankRankRankRank
Total Posts:  1421
Joined  2007-11-15

reaching red, brown, black, is hard because you need a lot of food coloring, thus it will water down your fondant.  Try powder food coloring which is a lot more concentrated and you need to use less for these deep colors.

most bakers that need red or black fondant, just buy it already tinted.

Signature 

http://myyellowkitchen.com/index-equipment-html/

Posted: 08 October 2008 05:53 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 2 ]
RankRankRankRank
Total Posts:  324
Joined  2008-03-19

What about making chocolate fondant to get the deep brown color you want? There is a recipe for it in Cake Bible. I have made chocolate fondant, and it tastes good.

Posted: 08 October 2008 07:30 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 3 ]
RankRankRankRank
Total Posts:  253
Joined  2007-11-29