1 of 3
Syruping and Freezing Butter Cakes, and dealing with crusts - How to?
Posted: 13 October 2008 04:53 AM   [ Ignore ]
Rank
Total Posts:  7
Joined  2008-10-13

Hello Cake Bible/Rose Fans, and Rose!

I am new to cake baking. I caught the bug after seeing a beautiful wedding cake a few months ago. It was stunning and delicious. I have pretty much spend the last month reading the cake bible like it is a sacred text, which it is so some bakers, including me! I’ve also spent the last month assembling supplies such as cake boards, cake carrier, cake flour, baker’s sugar, ateco frosting tips and bags, food scale, candy thermometer, cooling racks, cake tins, mixer, various chocolates, stretch-tite, food coloring, etc. This is not a cheap hobby but it is so fulfilling! I bought as many things as I could second hand.

I am baking my niece’s 11th Birthday cake. It will be a white butter cake, 9 by 13 inch, two layers, silk meringue buttercream frosting and the middle frosting layer will have Rose’s strawberry puree added to the frosting.  I need to bake the cake and make the frosting ahead of time because I won’t have that much time the day of the party, which is in 6 days (this Saturday). My plan is to bake/syrup/freeze the cakes, complete frosting the day before, and decorate the cake the morning of the party. The Creme Anglaise is done and sitting in the fridge, I’ll finish it on Thursday or Friday. In the meanwhile I have to practice piping using practice frosting. I plan on making some kind of a Hello Kitty/Ballerina motif. Hey, she’s 11 and these are two of her favorite things!

I baked the cakes tonight (Sunday) using the white base cake recipe, appropriate Rose factor, aluminum 9x13 cake pans and magicake strips. All of the ingredients were at room temperature, and the cakes turned out wonderfully. I was thrilled and relieved! The house smelled like heaven!