Flat vs. Puffy
Posted: 09 November 2008 09:02 PM   [ Ignore ]
Rank
Total Posts:  1
Joined  2008-11-09

Hi, everyone - first time post here.

I’m curious why some cookie recipes result in flat, not-as-chewy cookies, while other recipes result in puffy, ‘full,’ very chewy cookies. It’s not the flour; I use the same type whenever I bake. Is there another ingredient that I should add or not add to help with this? I prefer chewy cookies, unless the recipe specifically says otherwise .... just curious if anyone else runs into this.

Thanks!

Posted: 09 November 2008 11:11 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 1 ]
Rank
Total Posts:  12
Joined  2008-11-09

Hi David,

I’ve been an obsessive cookie baker for decades, and that question always puzzled me as well. I have to credit Flo Braker for clearing it up. Her book “Sweet Miniatures” explains everything at the level of detail we all adore in Rose’s books. The Reader’s Digest version is that (all other factors being equal) the way you mix the dough can make all the difference. For example, if you whip dough for 10 minutes with an electric mixer, you’ll end up incorporating more air than if you cream the ingredients, and MUCH more air than if you simply mix the ingredients by hand until they’re just combined. Even with exactly the same dough, each method would yield dramatically different results in texture. Other key factors are the ingredients (“short” doughs typically contain a lot of butter and no eggs—these doughs are usually creamed in a manner that incorporates very little air), and the ratio of ingredients to each other. Braker devotes a delicious 10 pages just to the topic of mixing. Well worth the read. Good luck!

Posted: 10 November 2008 12:03 AM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 2 ]
RankRankRankRank
Total Posts:  2599
Joined  2007-11-15