1 of 2
How to use corn flour?
Posted: 13 October 2013 11:03 PM   [ Ignore ]
Rank
Total Posts:  26
Joined  2012-03-25

Hi all,

I have corn flour in stock and expect using it for baking bread.  I have searched a while unable to find a recipe.  All recipe found on my searching were using cornmeal.

Please help.

Thanks

Rgds
satimis

Posted: 14 October 2013 04:48 AM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 1 ]
RankRankRankRank
Total Posts:  767
Joined  2007-11-15

I am not an expert but I do make quite a lot of bread, yeasted and sourdough.  I have never used cornflour in any bread recipe as far as I can remember, most bread recipes just use flour, of various types, water, salt and yeast, or sourdough starter.  I believe cornmeal to be something like polenta or semolina.  Are you in the UK or US?

Posted: 14 October 2013 09:01 AM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 2 ]
Rank
Total Posts:  9
Joined  2007-11-16

I use corn flour sometimes to replace AP flour when I make cornbread.  It gives the bread a better corn flavor.  I also use corn flour to make tortillas.

Posted: 14 October 2013 10:13 AM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 3 ]
RankRankRankRank
Joined  2007-11-15

I think the CORNFLOUR in the UK is a different commodity to the one in the US, that’s why I asked where the query came from.  In the UK cornflour is a very fine, white powder usually added to lighten a mixture.  Is that what you use for your tortillas?

Posted: 14 October 2013 10:34 AM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 4 ]
Rank
Total Posts:  9
Joined  2007-11-16

Yes, it is Mesa flour!  I do not make tortillas often, when I have a bag that needs used I add it to the cornmeal when making cornbread.  It s fine, like ap flour.

Posted: 14 October 2013 10:57 AM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 5 ]
RankRankRankRank
Total Posts:  589
Joined  2007-11-18
jeannette - 14 October 2013 10:13 AM