Best Chocolate for Ganache
Posted: 26 October 2013 08:54 AM   [ Ignore ]
RankRankRankRank
Total Posts:  129
Joined  2011-01-21

Hi Everyone!
  I am just getting into ganache for covering cakes (both with and without fondant).
I have been reading that chocolate >52% cocoa.  Does anyone have a favorite brand of Chocolate they use for ganache?
I have also been reading it is 2 parts chocolate to 1 part heavy cream.

Thanks

Posted: 26 October 2013 09:24 AM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 1 ]
RankRankRankRank
Total Posts:  601
Joined  2007-11-18
littlelottie - 26 October 2013 08:54 AM

Hi Everyone!
  I am just getting into ganache for covering cakes (both with and without fondant).
I have been reading that chocolate >52% cocoa.  Does anyone have a favorite brand of Chocolate they use for ganache?
I have also been reading it is 2 parts chocolate to 1 part heavy cream.

Thanks

LITTLELOTTIE:
Good morning. I do not have a favorite brand to mention. To me chocolate is chocolate as long it is of proper cocoa strength.
52% is very good. I must mention to you that the beginning point in GANACHE is equal amounts of choco & heavy cream. That doesn’t mean you should not veer from that amount, you see that depends what you are using it for wheather or not you should veer from that formula. One more thing, you must be very very careful not to get moisture or even a drop of water into this concoction if you do it will seize. It can be saved,,,,however I do not think it is worth the effort to do so. Just be very careful. Steam will do the same thing so be aware in doing this recipe.

You can blend in corn syrup into this concoction as well. Depending what you need the ganache for.

Good luck & enjoy the rest of the weekend.

~FRESHKID

Posted: 26 October 2013 02:20 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 2 ]
Administrator
RankRankRankRank
Total Posts:  1179
Joined  2009-11-24