peppermint meringue - tart aftertaste
Posted: 10 December 2013 12:54 AM   [ Ignore ]
Rank
Total Posts:  1
Joined  2013-12-10

Hi,  I was wondering if anybody had any suggestions.  I made some peppermint meringues for the first time. They contain egg whites, sugar, salt, peppermint extract and cream of tartar.  They baked to a nice texture and the initial flavor is very nice, but they have a very tart/bitter aftertaste that lingers for quite a while.  Would it be the cream of tartar? Can I reduce the amount I add next time? Or is there a substitute I can use?

I’m quite new to baking sweets other than basic cakes and cookies, so please help smile
Thanks

Posted: 10 December 2013 05:19 AM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 1 ]
RankRankRankRank
Total Posts:  598
Joined  2007-11-18
sheena.e - 10 December 2013 12:54 AM

Hi,  I was wondering if anybody had any suggestions.  I made some peppermint meringues for the first time. They contain egg whites, sugar, salt, peppermint extract and cream of tartar.  They baked to a nice texture and the initial flavor is very nice, but they have a very tart/bitter aftertaste that lingers for quite a while.  Would it be the cream of tartar? Can I reduce the amount I add next time? Or is there a substitute I can use?

I’m quite new to baking sweets other than basic cakes and cookies, so please help smile
Thanks

SHEENA,E:
  Good morning. I am sorry to learn of your baking disappointment. Just to answer your question

IS THERE A SUBST. I CAN USE?

Yes, you can omit the cream of tarter or employ lemon juice. I must say this…. Why are we using salt??? I think you can omit that as well.

Good luck in your baking & enjoy the rest of the day.

~FRESHKID.

Posted: 10 December 2013 06:30 AM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 2 ]
RankRankRankRank
Total Posts:  598
Joined  2007-11-27