Red Velvet Cake…
Posted: 10 December 2013 02:01 PM   [ Ignore ]
Rank
Total Posts:  1
Joined  2013-12-10

So I’m fairly new to baking, in general, but I’ve had some success with a Red Velvet Cake. Everyone really enjoyed it and I’d like to make another for a work party. However… I was wondering if there would be any negative side effect to leaving out the red coloring. I have nothing against it! I think it’s beautiful, I just would rather have a more neutral color with this particular cake.

Anyone know if the red coloring is essential? I know it wouldn’t technically be a real Red Velvet Cake, but I’m okay with that. smile

Also… what’s the big deal with Red Velvet Cakes? People seem to get really uppity about it. I’ve read so many articles that just completely rip apart the very idea of adding red coloring to a cake.

Posted: 10 December 2013 03:50 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 1 ]
RankRankRankRank
Total Posts:  903
Joined  2009-05-25

ScyllaBee, it’s a bit of a hot topic…I think it boils down to this:  There are some people who truly have sensitivities and I think food colorings for some people can be problematic.  I don’t think the cake would suffer flavour wise if you remove the coloring, but you may need to add a bit of liquid to compensate.  I suspect the color could be quite bland and the red is definitely some of its appeal.  Some people use beet juice instead of the food color.