HELP - CAKE BAKES ODDLY
Posted: 24 February 2014 06:54 PM   [ Ignore ]
RankRankRankRank
Total Posts:  129
Joined  2011-01-21

Hello everyone! 
  I have a BIG problem and i am not sure what the problem is…

Ok here we go - i have been making my chocolate cake for over two years - comes out great.  All the sudden a few weeks ago i made the cake and it cake out of the pan looking like the photo attached. 
I thought - ok try again no big deal.  I have made the cake now over 7 times and all 7 times the cake looks like this to varying degrees….It doesn’t really take the shape of the pan anymore, it falls when cooling, it is denser than usual

I thought maybe my oven thermometer is broken?  I am using all the same ingredients, and my baking powder is in a big jug from costco with a best by 2015….does anything happen to the baking powder when exposed to air?  maybe there is to much air in the container?  I am grasping at anything at this point (LOL)

Any thoughts as to why this is happening????? 

Thanks….
Little Lottie - in baking sorrows!

Image Attachments
crapcake.JPG

Posted: 24 February 2014 07:06 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 1 ]
RankRankRankRank
Total Posts:  687
Joined  2012-01-12

How about buying a new small container of BP, bake the cake as usual using the new BP and see if u get the same results, if it is the BP that is the suspect here. Good luck.

Posted: 24 February 2014 07:14 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 2 ]
RankRankRankRank
Total Posts:  1567
Joined  2011-02-17

I agree with Prettycake. Baking powder is supposed to be used within 6 months of opening. Unless I was a baker, that is the one product I wouldn’t buy from Costco. 

I would return the BP. Costco will refund your money no questions asked.

Posted: 24 February 2014 07:28 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 3 ]
Administrator
RankRankRankRank
Total Posts:  3171
Joined  2010-04-25

I third the suggestion!

Posted: 24 February 2014 07:41 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 4 ]
RankRankRankRank
Total Posts:  1363
Joined  2008-09-27