Custard Help
Posted: 03 April 2014 05:09 PM   [ Ignore ]
Rank
Total Posts:  4
Joined  2014-04-03

Hi Everyone,

I am new to this message board and am very excited to get an opportunity to be apart of it.  I love to bake and cook.  I recently tried to make a custard with eggs, salt, milk, nutmeg, vanilla extract.  The directions said to heat oven to 350 for 35-40 mins.  I did it for 35 mins, I let it cool but the problem I had was it tasted like scrambled eggs.  Why would that be? 

Thank you,
Crystal

Crystal Creative Ideas
http://www.crystalcreativeideas.blogspot.com

Posted: 03 April 2014 08:42 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 1 ]
RankRankRankRank
Total Posts:  715
Joined  2012-01-12

I do not see your recipe, but I make Flans all the time. I think they are very similar. How many eggs did u use and how much milk ? Did u use sugar ?

Posted: 03 April 2014 09:06 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 2 ]
Rank
Joined  2014-04-03

Here is the recipe I used. How do you make yours?

Ingredients

4 large eggs
1/2 cup granulated sugar
1/2 teaspoon salt
1 (12 fluid ounce) canNESTLE® CARNATION® Evaporated Milk
1 cup water
1 teaspoon vanilla extract
ground nutmeg

Directions

PREHEAT oven to 350 degrees F.
COMBINE eggs, sugar and salt in large mixer bowl. Add evaporated milk, water and vanilla extract; beat until mixed. Pour into six 6-ounce custard cups. Sprinkle with nutmeg. Place cups in 13 x 9-inch baking pan; fill pan with hot water to 1-inch depth.
BAKE for 35 to 40 minutes or until knife inserted near center comes out clean. Remove cups to wire rack to cool completely. Refrigerate until ready to serve.

Thank you,
Crystal

Crystal Creative Ideas

Posted: 04 April 2014 12:00 AM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 3 ]
RankRankRankRank
Joined  2012-01-12