1 of 2
Major Problem: sugar syrup crystalizes b4 i can mix it into egg whites
Posted: 05 December 2008 12:44 PM   [ Ignore ]
Rank
Total Posts:  22
Joined  2008-12-05

Hello Fellow Bakers,

I’m new at this. Rose has inspired me to learn and I’ve been baking for about one year now. I am having major trouble making buttercream and mousseline buttercream frosting. It has to do with incorporating the water/sugar or corn syrup misture after boiling it into the beaten egg whites. I combine the water and sugar in a saucepan and heat. i stir just until the sugar has mixed in then i stop stirring. i let the mixture heat and biil til it gets to the 248 degrees that is called for using my candy thermometer. i meediately pour the mixture into a measuring cup that is sprayed with oil. the egg whites are already beaten. this is where the problem arises. i start pouring the sugar/water mixture into the egg whites as i mix w/ a hand beater. 2 things happen at this pt. 1. much of the syrup mixture ends up solidifiying and falling to the bottom of the mixing bowl and b4 i can finish pouring the syrup, its solidifies in the measuring cup.

i have tried several times to make buttercream frosting or mousseline, but each time, i run into trouble at this point in the recipe with the sugar syrup hardening b4 it mixes in w/t he beaten egg whites and solidifying in the measuring cup b4 i can finish pouring.

what am i doing wrong? i thought it cld be that the thermometer is off and maybe the syrup is too hot. i just don’t know.

can anyone help?

Posted: 05 December 2008 01:07 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 1 ]
RankRankRankRank
Total Posts:  1074
Joined  2007-11-15

Hi Steve,

It is just cooling off too soon, you need to work faster to get all of the syrup in while hot.  It takes a few times making it to get the right rhythm.  I know that some people skip the measuring cup step and pour it directly from the pan.

Posted: 05 December 2008 01:45 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 2 ]
RankRankRankRank