Chocolate cake made with oil is sticky and gluey
Posted: 19 August 2014 11:26 AM   [ Ignore ]
Rank
Total Posts:  18
Joined  2014-02-07

Hi everyone!

I am a seasoned baker and lately I’ve tried several chocolate cake recipes using oil or melted butter (I don’t have a problem with using regular unsalted butter in recipes).  These recipes were followed exactly and they came out perfectly baked and moist, but they tasted very sticky and gluey.  The cake would just stick to the roof of my mouth!  Awful texture!

Can anyone explain what happened?

I prefer to make chocolate cake and carrot cakes with oil and all other cakes with room temp butter. 

Here are the recipes I tried - they all came out sticky - and I did use the toothpick test

http://www.marthastewart.com/356078/hersheys-chocolate-cupcakes

https://www.hersheys.com/recipes/recipe-details.aspx?id=184&name=HERSHEY’S-PERFECTLY-CHOCOLATE-Chocolate-Cake

http://www.foodnetwork.com/recipes/ina-garten/beattys-chocolate-cake-recipe.html

TIA! (thanks in advance)

Posted: 19 August 2014 01:44 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 1 ]
RankRankRankRank
Total Posts:  606
Joined  2007-11-18
foodncakelover - 19 August 2014 11:26 AM

Hi everyone!

I am a seasoned baker and lately I’ve tried several chocolate cake recipes using oil or melted butter (I don’t have a problem with using regular unsalted butter in recipes).  These recipes were followed exactly and they came out perfectly baked and moist, but they tasted very sticky and gluey.  The cake would just stick to the roof of my mouth!  Awful texture!

Can anyone explain what happened?

I prefer to make chocolate cake and carrot cakes with oil and all other cakes with room temp butter. 

Here are the recipes I tried - they all came out sticky - and I did use the toothpick test

http://www.marthastewart.com/356078/hersheys-chocolate-cupcakes

https://www.hersheys.com/recipes/recipe-details.aspx?id=184&name=HERSHEY’S-PERFECTLY-CHOCOLATE-Chocolate-Cake