Overworking pie crust
Posted: 16 December 2008 11:12 AM   [ Ignore ]
Rank
Total Posts:  22
Joined  2008-12-05

Hello everyone,

i recently brought in a pie to a small coffee shop and they liked it enough to express interest in buying some pies from me on a weekly basis. i gave a sample pie away to a fellow baker and he provided some feedback. he said the pie was good, but it wasn’t as flakey the 2n and 3rd day as the first. he thought i must have overworked the pie dough. given that i’m relatively new to pie dough making, its hard to know when i’ve overworked the dough. can anyone help?

also, the pie is a berry pie (strawberries, raspberries and blueberries). the baker also suggested that i add some acid to the pie to provide another layer of flavor. can anyone suggest anything that has worked for them?

thanks!
steve

Posted: 16 December 2008 01:17 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 1 ]
RankRankRankRank
Total Posts:  324
Joined  2008-03-19

Hi Steve,

Congratulations on the fact that you have potential customers to buy your pies. That is exciting!

I always make pie dough in the food processor, and I wear latex gloves when handling the dough so that the heat of my hands doesn’t cause the butter to melt into the flour. I don’t know whether a food processor can be used on a commercial scale—maybe some of the commercial bakers on this board can chime in here and talk about larger-scale production of pie crust. Also, I often bake pies directly from the freezer so that there is no issue with second or third-day aging of already-baked pie.