1 of 2
Making 1/2 Sheet Cake, have some questions!!
Posted: 04 January 2009 05:50 PM   [ Ignore ]
RankRankRankRank
Total Posts:  913
Joined  2009-01-04

I am new to cake decorating, and I have learned a lot by reading, researching, and watching other people. I am getting better every time I do another cake, but this time I am a little worried. I have to make a 1/2 sheet cake (12 x 18 x 2) for a birthday party and I have never made a cake of that size.
Here are my questions….

1) in order to do a half yellow/half chocolate cake, can I just use aluminum foil in the center to seperate the colors as I am pouring in?? Also, how do I know how much batter to make?
2) if i want to do say a pudding filling or something, should I torte the cake? If I freeze it, will it be possible to work with the layers easier, or is there a better way?? (I once saw a guy at Wegmans cut a cake horizontally and then filled the middle, and he was throwin the cake around like it was rubber! I have no idea how he did that…)
3) Do cakes of these size come out of a pan of this size easily?
4) Does anyone know a recipe for the right batter amount for this size pan??
5) Does anyone know a good buttercream frosting recipe that will cover a cake of this size? I Have tried many many buttercreams and have yet to find one that I love. Sometiems they aren’t sweet engouh for my taste, sometimes they taste like crisco…frankly, the wegmans buttercream is the best recipe but of course, they won’t give it to me lol.

Sorry for all the questions- this is how I learn!

Thanks so much

Posted: 04 January 2009 06:52 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 1 ]
RankRankRankRank
Total Posts:  608
Joined  2007-11-18

SKIWEAVER#9
  Good afternoon. Wecome to our culinary club. If you post the recipe amounts of the ingredients I will do the culinary math for you to fit the 1/2 sheet pan.

Same with the buttercream. I would suggest Miss Rose’s buttercream recipes in her “TCB” edition. Many to chose from.