gluten free vanilla extract
Posted: 09 January 2009 01:26 PM   [ Ignore ]
Rank
Total Posts:  2
Joined  2009-01-09

My 22 year old son has just developed gluten intolerance.  I’m a chef, baker and instructor but over Christmas I cheated and used gluten free packet mixes and bought bread to substitute for wheat products.  Quite honestly, most were appalling so I am working on adapting my baked goods (all from scratch ) to gluten free. Plenty of people have already expressed interest in fresh baked gluten free goods.  I’ve already been successful with corn muffins, scones and almond tart. next stop pizza.  My question is gluten free vanilla extract.  Pure vanilla extract is based on alcohol.  I was thinking of soaking vanilla pod in sherry wine and using it teaspoon at a time in place of alcohol based vanilla.  My other thought was to grind left over vanilla pod with granulated sugar but was not sure how successful this would be and proportions of sugar to vanilla pod, as well as proportion of sherry wine to vanilla pod and how long to leave it soak before using it.

Posted: 09 January 2009 01:39 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 1 ]
Administrator
RankRankRankRank
Total Posts:  4783
Joined  2008-04-16

Hmmm, I think that alcohol does not have any gluten (a protein in wheat flour that contributes structure to cakes and breads).  If you are avoiding alcohol for other reasons, you can make vanilla sugar, use the pods steeped in liquid from the recipe, or maybe try vanilla paste (not sure about the alcohol content, if any, of the paste).

Sponge-type cakes like genoise can be made more easily with gluten-free flours (like cornstarch or cassava) as they derive structure from eggs and starch. 

I have heard that butter cakes can be made with gluten-free flours if things like xanthan gum are added, but this seems trickier (and maybe not so tasty?).

Good Luck!

Signature 

B&T Blog:  Cultured Butter Recipe

Posted: 09 January 2009 02:00 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 2 ]
Rank
Total Posts:  2