fondant fake cake
Posted: 22 January 2009 12:25 AM   [ Ignore ]
Rank
Total Posts:  1
Joined  2009-01-22

Hi ,
I am planning on making fake cake centerpieces for my wedding reception. I am new at fondant. I want to get some tips on how to go about this project. First of all, where do i get dummy styrofoam cakes? What fondant works best for this material? How will the fondant stick to the styrfoam? How far in advance do i need to make the ckaes to be able to have the fondant maintain a fresh look? I am using black brocade pattern on a white fondant cake. I was wondering if anyone had tips on how to cut a design out of a fondant sheet to put on the cake? thank you somuch for all your help!
~mj

Posted: 22 January 2009 06:46 AM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 1 ]
RankRankRankRank
Total Posts:  596
Joined  2007-11-27

Do a search for cake dummies to find various vendors; I personally like the quality of the styro from The Dummy Place in Connecticut.  Spritz the outside of the styro very lightly with a fine mist of water just before you put the fondant on so it will stick to the dummy. Cheap styro (with big, loose cells) will show under the fondant, so some people cover that with a very thin base of royal icing.  I’d rather get nice styro to begin with!

The easiest way for a newbie at fondant to get a design is to put a decorative ribbon around the side of the cake (either in the middle, just below the top edge or at the bottom). You could also buy a stencil to use, but you will want to practice that to get the clean lines you need and with a dark royal icing, that will take some practice in getting the right consistency of icing and pulling the stencil away.