Batter volume question
Posted: 22 January 2009 03:46 PM   [ Ignore ]
Rank
Total Posts:  1
Joined  2009-01-22

Hello, I am new to this site and hoping you folks can help me.

I am at work and don’t have my copy of the Cake Bible, and I need to know how many cups of batter one recipe of the Downy Yellow Butter Cake makes. I’m making a stacked cake for a 50th birthday party, and doing a 10” and an 8” tier, two layers each. I’m estimating I’ll need 20 cups of batter, total, for all the layers, but I’m not able to figure out how many recipes of the Downy Yellow cake that will be.

Any assistance you can provide would be most appreciated… I am a semi-pro/hobby baker but my specialty is cupcakes, so larger layers are still a mystery to me! grin

Some photos of my work: http://www.flickr.com/photos/10031022@N04/show/

Thanks in advance!

Posted: 22 January 2009 04:22 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 1 ]
RankRankRankRank
Total Posts:  1429
Joined  2007-11-18

Tracy, welcome! If you refer to pages 491 to 493 of The Cake Bible (US edition), Rose has done a chart for the different sizes of cakes. All you have to do is pick the size of the cake pan and multiply it by the Rose factor and you can make any size cake you want using this chart. I know you don’t have TCB with you right now but hopefully this will help. The chart takes all the guess work out of having to calculate the amount of batter.

By the way cool cupcakes!

Signature 

http://heavenlycakesenjoyedonearth.blogspot.com/

Posted: 22 January 2009 05:04 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 2 ]
RankRank
Total Posts:  42
Joined  2007-11-15

Tracy already knows how many cups of batter she needs for her pans.  She wants to know if anyone knows how many cups of batter she’ll get out of each batch of Downy Yellow.

(Hi Tracy!  Welcome!  This is a great message board)

Signature 

Not As Good As Pork Cracklins

Posted: 22 January 2009 05:11 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 3 ]
RankRank
Total Posts:  42
Joined  2007-11-15