Pound Cake Question - Can I carve for 3D teapot and decorate?
Posted: 17 February 2009 01:02 PM   [ Ignore ]
Rank
Total Posts:  2
Joined  2009-02-17

Newbie here, both to the site and to cake baking outside my standby scratch chocolate cake and some decorating classes.  I am making a birthday cake for my MIL.  She loves pound cake and is expecting a decorated cake.  I am planning on doing a simple 3D carved teapot, and either using buttercream or fondant to decorate.  I’d also like to incorporate Rose’s White Ganache, most likely as a filling, as she loves white chocolate.  If I do fondant, I’ll use the ganache as the crumb coat instead of the buttercream.

I have a number of questions:
- Can I use Rose’s Pound cake recipe in a 6” round or 8” round?  According to TCB, the pound cake should be baked in a loaf pan or fluted tube pan.  I have scoured this site and the internet, and haven’t found much out there on the downsides to going with a standard round for this recipe - are there any? 
- If no to the first question, should I go with Rose’s Golden Buttercream cake instead? Does that have a similar pound cake taste since it is a butter cake?
- Will the pound cake taste OK with buttercream or the white ganache, or should I look to a different icing recipe?  I know pound cake doesn’t really need icing, in fact I made her a pound cake last year with berries and whipped cream that was really good.

I’m not sure if the pound cake request trumps the desire for a decorated cake.  If I can get a similar taste that will work better for the 3D carving and buttercream (which is her recipe), I think she’d be OK with it.

Any advice would be warmly welcomed. I have enjoyed lurking here reading all of your insightful comments and look forward to any help!

Posted: 17 February 2009 01:35 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 1 ]
RankRankRankRank
Total Posts:  2599
Joined  2007-11-15